Saldana Answers Simone Critics!

Posted: February 27, 2013 in Zoe Saldana
Tags: , , ,

saldana

Several months ago, all hell broke out when Zoe Saldana was cast as legendary singer Nina Simone. Saldana has remained tight-lipped throughout the controversy but finally has her say.

Saldana has kept her composure and maintaining that the portrayal is coming from a place of love.

“What kept me from getting stressed or being hurt by the comments is that I’m doing it for my sisters,” Saldana said. “I’m doing it for my brothers and I don’t care who tells me that I am not this and I am not that. I know who I am and I know what Nina Simone means to me.”

“I’m going to keep my chin up because that’s who I am and that’s who I’ll be and Nina was like that too. So I did it all out of love– out of love for Nina.”

Nina will tell the story of the late jazz musician and classical pianist Nina Simone including her rise to fame and relationship with her manager Clifton Henderson. In addition to Saldana, the film will co-star Mike Epps and David Oyelowo.

Leave a Reply

